Metal Gear Solid 5 Expansion and Survival Mode Details

Metal Gear Solid 5 Expansion and Survival Mode Details

Metal Gear Solid 5 Expansion and Survival Mode Details

by March 1, 2016

Konami reveals more details surrounding the upcoming Cloaked in Silence expansion for Metal Gear Solid 5: The Phantom Pain, including the first word on a new mode called Survival.

Without a doubt, Metal Gear Solid 5: The Phantom Pain was one of the standout titles of 2015. Giving players the trademark Metal Gear Solid gameplay experience, the game also granted a huge open world to explore and enthralling story to discover. All in all, gamers have immensely enjoyed the return of Metal Gear Solid, finding countless hours of entertainment within – and from the sounds of it, there’s plenty more fun to be had in the form of upcoming online expansions.

Konami has revealed details about the upcoming Metal Gear Solid 5 expansion Cloaked in Silence. The publisher explained exactly what the expansion would deliver, with an eye toward the Metal Gear Online multiplayer content. Konami confirmed that the pack will come with three new maps, named Coral Complex, Rust Palace, and Azure Mountain, and will also allow players to play as Metal Gear Solid 5 sniper Quiet.

As well as this, the expansion also includes a new feature known as Appeal Action. Initially revealed by Konami last month, his allows players to make special poses in game, and each character can have up to five poses assigned. Cloaked in Silence is due to launch on March 15 for $3.99, whilst these Appeal Packs will cost an additional $1.99 each.

Konami also confirmed that a new free Metal Gear Online update is on the cards. Chief amongst the new online announcements was the news of an additional mission type named Sabotage. In this new mission type, attacks must destroy an enemy missile before the end of the round, by first hacking into terminals to remove an electromagnetic barrier that is protecting it.

Also revealed was the confirmation of a previous statement that Konami is bringing a new game mode to Metal Gear Online, dubbed Survival. Survival mode will be released on April 7, and gameplay focuses around players trying to reach the highest win streak. These maps can be played for free up to ten times a week by any player, with the week resetting each Tuesday, but those purchasing the Cloaked in Silence expansion will be granted unlimited access to the mode.

Metal Gear Online has proved to be a hugely successful part of the latest game in the franchise, adding an interesting new component to the traditional gameplay of the stealth series. Although Metal Gear Solid 5 has not always hit headlines for the correct reasons, with Hideo Kojima’s exit from Konami and some dubious downloadable content coming under fire, the title has still proved immensely popular. Let’s see whether this extra expansion will continue the game’s success.

Metal Gear Solid 5 is out now for PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Xbox 360, and PC. The Cloaked in Silence expansion will launch on March 15.

Source: Konami